• Welcome to the Resident Evil Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Resident Evil series and video gaming.

Register Log in

Introduction

RedfieldFanboi

Hey all! I'm RedfieldFanboi and I'm a, well fanboi of all things Chris Redfield!

I was first introduced to RE back in '98 while at a friend's house. He popped in the disk for RE2 and gave me the controller, but as my favourite games at that point were Tenchu and Soul Reaver I couldn't get into the tank controls and fixed camera perspective and died many times as a result before I could even make it to the RPD. It would be a couple more months before I'd rent it from Blockbuster but when I did and I had the chance to really get into it, I was hooked.

I'm a writer and story has always been the primary means for me to connect to any game and RE2's bio-punk technothriller plot and oh-so-wholesome heroes sucked me right in. Leon stuck with me as my favourite character, even after playing 1,3, and eventually CVX - and then everything changed with 4.

Many hold RE4 in high esteem, but honestly it's at the bottom of my list. The character is nothing like the Leon I loved and the story had no connection to any of the themes and plot points I previously hoped they'd continue. RE5 came along and while it's not my favourite style of RE game I love the story and how it reconnects to the past games and concludes the rivalry between Chris and Wesker.

For all its development Chris was cemented as my favourite character, ever since.

I'm bound to stir up passions eventually, so to get it out of the way here's a quick rundown of what I like and don't like in the franchise...

Games I love: 1/REmake, 2/2R, RE5, RE6, CVX, 3R, Rev1
Games I don't: RE:Nem, 0, 4, Rev2
Games I can't play due to accessibility: 7, 8
Movies I like: WtRC, Vendetta, Degeneration, RE 2002
Movies I don't: Anderson's 2-6, Damnation, Infinite Darkness
Least favourite S.T.A.R.S. member: Jill