• Welcome to the Resident Evil Community Forum!

We're a group of fans who are passionate about the Resident Evil series and video gaming.

Register Log in

How would you receive a fan-made RE 2D game?

CrashOkami

The Survivor
As some of you might know, I'll be soon working on a 2D game. I'm currently researching which engine to use (will be my first game), one that will not require a mad lot of input since I've not studied game design, and I might "drown" in that pool of missing knowledge. I'm a programmer, though, and I can manage some advanced programming, so I don't want a hand-holder engine.

Anyway, I've weighed in on the option of making a Resident Evil game. As of now, that's only an idea, and I've not worked on anything about it. I'm thinking it should be a top-down, or isometric title. An action-shooter sidescroller wouldn't play that well as a Resident Evil, since you would need to jump, the zombies would never scare you since you'll always see them coming, etc.

Soon, my website about this will be up, and I'll get a lot more opinions on which IP to use (except if I develop my own IP), but till then, what does the RE community think about it? What would you like to see in such a RE game? Would anyone be willing to help about it, even?

Of course, this site and everyone that participated in the creation of the game will be credited for their work!

Steve

Fearfully and wonderfully made
Admin
It all sounds really very exciting! If you do decide to go ahead and develop a Resident Evil-themed -- or Resident Evil-inspired -- game, then I'd be more than happy to help promote the project as best I can.

As a means or helping paint a picture for my tragically unimaginative mind, would you say that your goal is to develop something along the same lines as the 2D indie 'demake' of Silent Hill 2, Soundless Mountain II? Would you be tackling the arty side of development yourself?

I will most definitely be keeping a close eye on your progress!

CrashOkami